risk-taking and the joys of feeling like an idiot

October 8, 2009 at 7:05 am 5 comments

via luckyds

via luckyds

Tonight, I felt like a total idiot.

I decided to take a hip-hop class at my gym. I saw the class practicing before my yoga class on Monday and noticed that there were quite a few newbies struggling through the moves. Seeing them make it through the number was very inspiring and I decided I had to try it for myself. Well, tonight, there were no other newbies accompanying me (only dancers who had obviously earned the title ‘dancer’ at some point in their lives), but it was fantastic. I could not for the life of me get the steps down and sometimes felt that my arms were so gangly that, even if I had the steps down pat, I would still look like some sort of long-armed gorilla. At the end, the teacher made us perform in small groups for each other. I fumbled through the whole thing but still felt accomplished at the end.

I smiled while getting into my car after class and began reflecting on risk-taking and the joys of feeling like an idiot. Hip-hop is so far outside my comfort zone, but I think I will keep trying it. It is easy to come home and do the same thing I do every night, but it is harder to do something new.

Another risk-taker that I want to mention is Germany’s most popular women’s magazine Brigitte. They announced this week that they will no longer be using professional models but will instead be using “real women” as a way of combating the unhealthy standards that stick-thin professional models encourage. I think this approach is fantastic and can’t wait to see the results (I am even thinking about subscribing even though I don’t speak German!).

Brigitte-magazine-001

Anyways, cheers to risk-taking! Take a risk this week. It might be fantastic (or humiliating and then fantastic like my hip-hop experience, but this is really about the end result, right?).

Have a good Thursday!

…currently listening to Blackalicious, Alphabet Aerobics

Entry filed under: fashion, life. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

sewing inspiration

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura  |  October 8, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    Alex, this is a fantastic post. It is truly inspiring and I appreicate your willingness to share. Thanks 🙂

  • 2. Gabi  |  October 8, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Alex! So proud of you for going last night, and thanks for the inspiring reflection.

  • 3. Miranda  |  October 8, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Two thumbs up, sista. Wish I could have been a fly on the wall at your gym. Keep doing what you’re doing! Love you!!

  • 4. kina  |  October 8, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    🙂 this post made me so happy. let me know the next time you’re hip hopping! i’d love to join.

  • 5. Kelby McCan  |  September 26, 2010 at 7:51 pm

    and i figured you for a natural born dancer LOL…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


