Sock animals!

September 13, 2009 at 7:47 am 2 comments

One of my favorite events this summer was my friend Matti’s birthday. He asked me to come up with a craft to do at the park for his birthday. Of course I could have decided on an small-amount-of-material craft like painting, but I, as usual, came up with a much more complicated option–sock animals. The book that I used for reference is Stray Sock Sewing by Taiwanese advertising professional turned sock animal aficionado Daniel Ta. His lovable and quirky creations photographed in whimsical environments are so inspiring.

sock animal

I was so happy that so many party-goers were on board for my experimental project. On a few picnic blankets in the middle of the park, we spread out our materials: socks, stuffing, buttons, yarn, pipe cleaners, fabric scraps, notions, and, yes, a sewing machine and free-standing battery to power it.

sewing machine in park

sewing in the park

(A very interesting way to sew. I think I still prefer a table.) =)

It was so much fun to work with everyone on their projects and to see what different creations each person came up with. Sock animals are not difficult to make, but they do require some care to give them the personalities they need.

sock animals

I have to admit that I am more than a little bit obsessed with my man Frank. So adorable eating his dirt n’ worms…

sock animal

Entry filed under: crafting, life. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

stuffed squash–the cutest food the september issue

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. steventagle  |  September 13, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    Best birthday activity ever! People are always enchanted by my moose/squid and his sock tentacles. Thanks for being so generous with your guidance, material, and skill, Alex! 🙂

  • 2. Nadia  |  September 13, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    So cute! I think Indira needs one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


