my search for the best italian food in los angeles, part 2

June 11, 2009 at 7:19 am Leave a comment

On with the search!

This next ristorante is probably the one I am most excited about. I saw it while driving down 3rd street the other day and knew that I had to come try it.

Allora Cucina Italiana
Location: 3rd just east of La Cienega, W. Hollywood
allora

From the call to make a reservation, I knew I would fall in love with Allora. Carlo, one of the two very Italian men who ended up waiting on us, answered the phone with a joyful “Ciao! Come stai sta sera? (Hello! How are you this evening?)”. His greeting took me right back to Italy where the warm restaurant owners would try, from the stoop of their restaurant doors, to charm you in to eating with them. When we arrived for dinner, we were greeted with “Alessandra? Buona sera, Alessandra ed amici (Good evening Alex and friends)!”

One of the great things about Allora, for now, is that they do not have their liquor license and so allow you to bring your own wine which they will serve you without a corkage fee. This really helps with the bill–not that the place is at all expensive. The pastas were very reasonably priced (in the $12-18 range) as were the appetizers.

I ordered the arugula salad with artichoke hearts and shaved Parmesan cheese to start. It was delicious with a light oil and vinegar dressing. For my entree, I chose the mushroom ravioli which ended up being exactly what a ravioli should be. The raviolis were obviously handmade with very thin pasta folded delicately around a flavorful mushroom mixture. The sauce was a light truffle oil that couldn’t have complimented the pasta more perfectly. It is definitely one of my favorite Italian food dishes. Here is a nice tutorial on how to make homemade raviolis. I really want to try it sometime.

2009_04_27_allora2

Allora is a perfect Italian restaurant in Los Angeles. I highly recommend going (make a reservation first, because they do get busy). And don’t forget to bring your bottle of wine!

Entry filed under: food, life. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

my search for the best italian food in los angeles, part 1 my search for the best italian food in los angeles, part 3

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


