i LOVE puréed soups

April 14, 2009 at 7:14 am 1 comment

I think one of my favorite foods is a good, hearty blended soup. I’ve found that one of the best things to do with the greens in my CSA box is to make soup. I think I have made about 10 different soups so far with the various greens. My favorite as of yet is my carrot and red kale purée. I’m pretty bad at making way too much food (it is hard to cook just for yourself sometimes!) so I have been ending up with a lot of soup to freeze.

Purée of Carrot and Red Kale Soup

Puree of Carrot and Red Kale Soup

Ingredients

  • 5 large carrots
  • 1 medium-sized Russet potato
  • 1 large bunch of Red Kale (can be substituted with other leafy greens too)
  • 1 medium-sized onion
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 spoonful of garlic (1-2 cloves) (I cheat and use jars of garlic)
  • 1/2 cup of dry white wine
  • 2 or 3 cans of chicken or vegetable broth (the chicken broth adds a pretty strong flavor)
  • salt and pepper

Make it!

Preparation: Peel the carrots, onions, and potatoes and then chop each into similar sized pieces about 1 inch thick (keep in separate bowls). Chop the kale into small pieces as well. Heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add the onions, garlic, and carrots and sautée for  about 2 minutes.  Add the wine and  cook for another 2 minutes. Add the broth, potatoes, and kale and bring to a boil. Once it has boiled, turn down the heat to a low simmer and leave for 15 minutes or until the potatoes and carrots are soft and easily pierced with a fork. Use a blender or food processor to purée the soup in batches. I usually have a large bowl that I transfer the blended parts to, then once all of the soup is blended and in the large bowl, I pour it back into the pot and return it to the stove. At this point, use your taste buds to decide if your soup needs salt, pepper, or even a 1/4 cup of cream (you can use regular milk too).

I garnished my soup with a little bit of cilantro and ate it with some wheat crackers. It was very delicious. I hope that you like it!

Entry filed under: food, life. Tags: , , , , .

etsy love for april my morning drive

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. AS  |  April 14, 2009 at 7:56 am

    Thanks for posting this, Alex! Sounds great!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


