roman holiday

March 30, 2009 at 2:04 am 1 comment

My friends Kristina and Austen are going to Rome this week and I couldn’t be more jealous. I brought Kristina my map from when I lived there briefly in 2006. My trip may have been brief, but my love for Rome set in quick and deep. She and I sat over the map as I pointed out beautiful street corners and piazzas, best places to buy suppli and cheapest street markets. It is a stubborn city that resists change but wants to be modern and a city so full of pride it could burst at the seams and spill Italian flags and AS Roma futbol players everywhere. But I love it. These are some photos from Rome, one of my favorite cities in the world. Click the photos for more info.

i motorini

i motorini outside my school

nuns

nuns

pathway to il giardino d'arancia

pathway to il giardino degli aranci

via della scala a trastevere

via della scala a trastevere

antica caciara (an amazing cheese and meat shop in trastevere)

antica caciara (an amazing cheese and meat shop in trastevere)

roberto polica, owner of antica carica, with his prized pecorino romano

roberto polica, owner of antica caciara, with his prized pecorino romano

happy caps

happy capps

Now I am going to pretend like I am not looking up flights to go with K and A this weekend…

=)

**Also, note that there are a couple of ways to stay updated with viva.le.mani. In the right sidebar at the bottom, you can subscribe via a reader or via email. To subscribe via email, click the link and enter your email address. You will then get an email to confirm your subscription. Every time that I post, you will get an email notification that includes my blog post. Hope this helps!

Entry filed under: food, life. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

A few more vintage family photos etsy love for april

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Michael  |  March 30, 2009 at 7:52 am

    My time in Rome was about 50 times shorter than yours, but your description put me right back there… perfect place. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


