what i did today instead of sewing…

March 16, 2009 at 6:24 am 1 comment

Some days it is just hard to sit down at the sewing machine. I thought I would post some of the other things that I did instead of sewing (like I said I would in my 12:30 post). It was a good day.

I finally created the frame collage on my living room wall…

cimg1833

I actually finished these pillows last week, but I think they weren’t really finished until I sat them on my favorite piece of furniture (my IKEA Stockholm chair–I bought it for $100 off of craigslist recently) and accented them with Michael’s abandoned mandolin. I really like these pillows and I think they are a good show of what my future pillow collection will look like. The lace accent on them is from vintage curtains I bought for a dollar at a garage sale last month and I love them. I will be so sad when I use the last bit of that lace.

cimg1837

I hung this painting that my mom painted for me. This is the third apartment that it has hung in and I love knowing that it will hang everywhere I ever live. I think it is so beautiful. I think my mom really underestimates what an amazing artist she is.

cimg1839

I framed this photo that I took. On President’s Day, a few of us got together and, through an exhausting process of picking ideas of “something new to do” out of a hat, finally decided on “Go on a photo expedition, take a photo, frame it, and hang it in your house”. Voila! When the cherry trees bloom in Fresno it is just so beautiful. I completely took them for granted when I lived there but can’t help but admire them every spring when I go home. That is why I took this picture. That color is just wonderful.

cimg1840

And I made lunch for the next few days. At first I made a parsley/spinach pesto with some of the greens from the CSA. It was a pretty strong flavor and it took a lot of improvisation to tone the flavor down, but in the end, I created a pretty delicious pesto-cream sauce with peas, onions, collard greens, and chicken over whole wheat spaghetti.

cimg1844

I love days like today.

Entry filed under: crafting, design, food, life, quilting. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

inspiring quilts Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Cam  |  March 17, 2009 at 3:02 am

    Where’d you get those frames? They’re so cool. I can’t wait to get my own place and decorate it. Maybe I should hire you! You have a good eye for things. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


