“Green acres is the place for me. Farm livin’ is the life for me.”

March 5, 2009 at 8:45 am 5 comments

I am really excited because I picked up my first CSA box today. CSA’s are Community-Supported Agriculture programs that exist worldwide. They provide a socio-economic model of agriculture and food distribution that hooks up the consumer directly with a local farmer. It promotes buying local, reducing transportation costs, and serving consumers fresh and virtually pesticide-free foods. One of my coworkers told me about it and I am so grateful. On Monday, I ordered my box of greens from The South Central Farmer’s Cooperative and I picked it up today. A box costs $15 and it is a pretty good amount of food. I am figuring that it will be my greens for two weeks. So I brought my box home tonight, took pictures of it, googled till I knew the name of every green, and then began cooking.

Here’s the box. I’m loving the design and I felt like I was opening a present when I finally broke into it.
2box

It is like a cornucopia of leafy greens.

3box1

Here are a couple of highlights:

mustard greens

mustard greens

kale

kale

rainbow chard

rainbow chard

spinach

spinach

It is a lot of fun to eat little pieces of each leaf. They all have such different tastes! The mustard greens are so spicy–like wasabi. I am excited to sautee the mustard greens with some onions, soy sauce, and sesame oil. Mmmmm.

I did make my first CSA box creation tonight and I am so happy with it. I threw together a quick cilantro pesto. I put a large bunch of cilantro, about 3/4 cups of olive oil, some Parmesan cheese, garlic, salt, and pepper into the blender and blended it till smooth. I used the last of the garlic from the jar, scrubbed off the label, and used that for my very own pesto packaging.

cilantro pesto (and grapefruit from my aunt's tree)

cilantro pesto (and grapefruits from my aunt's tree)

Delicious.

If you live in the LA area, you should join the SFCSA! I would love to talk about recipes and uses for these interesting new greens. Click here to see what is in the box every week.

Entry filed under: food, life. Tags: , , , .

puppies! perfect little dachshund puppies! “John is not really dull” and other New Deal posters

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura L.  |  March 5, 2009 at 8:13 pm

    Love this idea! i am going to check it out…hopefully Scott is into lovely, leafy greens! 🙂 I would hate to have to eat them alone. Hope you are well!

  • 2. lillieinthecity  |  March 7, 2009 at 12:19 am

    love these photos! and your jar of pesto looks perfecto. i’m excited to share more leafy green adventures soon (:

  • 3. kristy  |  March 9, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    Yeah! I’m so excited. I ❤ LOCAL

  • 4. i LOVE puréed soups « viva.le.mani.  |  April 14, 2009 at 7:14 am

    […] a good, hearty blended soup. I’ve found that one of the best things to do with the greens in my CSA box is to make soup. I think I have made about 10 different soups so far with the various greens. My […]

  • 5. stuffed squash–the cutest food « viva.le.mani.  |  September 11, 2009 at 7:52 am

    […] I started with beautiful squash from my CSA box. I think the green squash is called “eight ball squash” and the white squash is a type […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


