a table reborn

February 27, 2009 at 7:25 am 4 comments

First off, I can’t believe that it is almost March. 2009 is just blowing past me. This week was pretty crazy at work since we just opened an exhibition and it left me very little downtime to work on any crafting projects. I did finish the front of a couple of pillow cases I am working on, but my camera is not uploading to my computer right now so I will upload pics of those later.

In one of my last posts, I showed a picture of a table in my house. I LOVE this piece. It is an old sewing table that I found on the side of the road at the end of my street. The top flips open and there used to be a sewing machine inside. I imagine it was a classic Singer gold. I really love rescuing furniture from the side of the road. It always looks so sad sitting there like it is hoping one of the passing cars will stop and give it a new home. I wasn’t in a car, but I did use my muscles to awkwardly carry it the block back to my house. It was pretty shabby looking, but the day was beautiful (it was one of those 85 degrees and sunny days in January in Los Angeles this year) and I got right to work on the table. I had to go to OSH to buy a little gadget that makes it easier to sand. I would have been a lot smarter to buy an electrical one, but I was trying to be thrifty. It took me about six hours of hardcore sanding in my (beautiful little) backyard, but I really love the finished product.

table1

table2

blog_table1

I still haven’t decided if I am going to stain it or not, but for now, I think it is pretty cute. I found that classic hardware at OSH too. The table scarf I bought at a little thrift shop in Little Ethiopia. Maybe this will inspire you to rescue some furniture off the side of the road this weekend! I promise that it makes for a very satisfying Sunday project.

Entry filed under: crafting. Tags: , , .

fashion is no new thing… puppies! perfect little dachshund puppies!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kim  |  March 1, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    That is amazing that you hand sanded all that….I love it

  • 2. Kelly  |  March 4, 2009 at 2:38 am

    I have an electric sander for the next time you decide to rescue some furniture! Well done on the hand-sanding job though. I’m sure it was much more rewarding 🙂 I love your blog, Alex!

  • 3. Mark Hardin  |  March 6, 2009 at 4:34 am

    Nice! I have been doing quite a bit of woodwork of my own these days. Basically creating furniture that will some day need rescuing from a kind soul like you! Maybe I will make ya something someday soon!

  • 4. prueitt  |  September 4, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    I just started my side of the road rescue project and your blog showed up on my page. cool huh?
    Good job!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


