bow ties are the new skinny ties

February 18, 2009 at 7:44 am 4 comments

My next sewing project will be to benefit the American Cancer Society. BurdaStyle is trying to get 150 of its members to create and send in pink and/or black bow ties. More info can be found here if you are interested.

I made my first and only bow tie as a gift for Dan in January (and it just so happened to be pink–I may just do another for BurdaStyle). I downloaded the David Bow Tie pattern for free from BurdaStyle and then went down the street to Mood to look for a good tie fabric. Though their selection was slim, I found a perfect pink plaid. I had a little problem finding the metal sliders, so I went to a thrift store near my house and bought a couple of old bow ties. I just ended up taking the sliders off of an old bow tie and using it for this one. You can also make bow ties with buttons just in case, like me, you can’t find the sliders.

first bow tie

I was pretty happy with how it turned out but was nervous to say it was a success until I could see it on Dan. Also, I have no idea how to tie a bow tie.

dan in my bow tie

…success!

If you would like to join me in making a bow tie for the American Cancer Society, let me know! I’d be happy to show you how to make the bow tie, fabric shop with you, lend you my sewing machine, or sew side-by-side with you someday.

Happy almost Wednesday!

Entry filed under: crafting, life.

a beautiful and long weekend a busy saturday…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stacy  |  February 24, 2009 at 12:46 am

    Awww, super cute! You are such a philanthropist and creative seamstress!!! =) I like the idea! Keep it up!

  • 2. Aaron Valenzuela  |  February 25, 2009 at 6:19 am

    LETS MAKE BOW TIES!!!! Miss you! I’m so down to make bow-ties! yesyesyesyseeysyesyeysyeyssssss

  • 3. Mark Hardin  |  February 26, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    Looks awesome, my love! We contemplated making the bow ties for our wedding, but couldnt find any decent fabric anywhere! Glad you feel they are as cool as I do!

  • 4. pocketsquarez  |  May 25, 2011 at 2:57 am

    Check this collection of custom Reversible Bow Ties at http://t.co/fXeFtqz

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


