first post!

February 9, 2009 at 8:13 am 7 comments

My mom and grandma gave me a sewing machine two Christmases ago. It sat alone in the top of my closet for months. The thought of using it scared me. I was sure I would fail by making something that was ugly, crooked, and unwanted. But a design came to my head and I drove to Joann’s (a new frontier for me) one day on a whim. I picked out seven (stupidly expensive) fabrics, bought two yards of each, and took about five months to make my first quilt. I still love each of those fabrics like they are my children or something. I am trying not to run out of any of them and try to use a little bit of at least one of them in every sewing project that I do. I decided early in the making of the quilt that it would be for me, and that I would not give it as a gift. I just really liked it and wanted to keep it as a show of my first sewing project. Also, it is quite flawed. It lays on my bed kind of like when businesses frame and hang their first dollar on the wall behind the counter. (And yes, I am 22 with a twin bed =).

first quilt

I love the idea that I will always have it and that it will be passed down to my future kids as their mom’s first quilt. I like that I made something that keeps me warm. I like even more when I see it keeping my boyfriend warm-but I am still not going to give it to him (his will come soon!).

I have to credit my friend Lillie (www.lillieinthecity.com) for encouraging me to pursue my crafting. Without her help, advice, and general awesomeness, I would have never thought to really go all out with crafting. Like most others I have talked to in the urban craft revival, my house is full of my craft projects, I spend much of my free time looking at etsy shops, blogs, and craft/design magazines, and my hands often itch to make or remake something when I get home from a long (or, really, any) day at work. My hands have led me to buy acrylic paints and canvases, caused me to take numerous trips to Home Depot or OSH to buy hand sanders, 2x4s, varnishes, and generally have just worked with my mind to convince me that I can make anything I want. That is what this really is all focused around–my hands. viva.le.mani means “long live the hands” in italian. It’s not really a phrase that italians use, so don’t try to sound cool by saying it to your italian friends =). I love working with my hands and there is just something so beautiful about creating with le mani.

So welcome to my blog. I hope to update frequently with posts on my quilting progress, etsy sales, food, life, and beautiful things. I am working on my etsy products right now and will hopefully start posting items in a couple of weeks. Have an awesome week. Leave a comment for me if you’d like. Thanks for stopping by!
Entry filed under: life, quilting. Tags: , , , , , .

a sneak peek…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura L.  |  February 9, 2009 at 8:36 pm

    Hey Miss Alex! Love the name of your blog and I am so excited for you! Congrats on getting this up and running. I look forward to seeing all the wonderful things you create πŸ™‚

  • 2. robbie the racoon  |  February 9, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    more blogs please… preferably about racoons. they are my favorites.

  • 3. gnat  |  February 9, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    this quilt is beautiful, and i absolutely agree about the itch to be making something always… whether its painting, or knitting, or whatever.

    i feel inspired to pull out my own sewing machine.

    glad to see you are well : )

  • 4. kina  |  February 12, 2009 at 5:24 am

    i am so excited to see all the beautiful things you make. i’m so lucky i get a sneak peak at everything πŸ™‚ thanks for making our house feel homey. you make me want to be more creative. xoxo

  • 5. AnnaS  |  February 12, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    Fantastic!! Love this quilt. Can’t wait for more posts/ pics πŸ˜€

  • 6. Leslie  |  February 12, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    So inspiring! This is a perfect example of how you never fail to amaze me Alex. We’re so busy during the day that I forget to tell how great you are…I love reading about all these cool-cat things! Keep going forth…and being a blessing πŸ™‚

  • 7. Stephanie  |  February 24, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    wow!!!! can you teach me how to quilt????

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


